Amazon + GoodReads Book Reviews: 3 Hots and a Cot

I Keep Forgetting to Ask For Book Reviews, But I Got Some  Anyway!

reviewer giving 5 stars in book reviews about homelessness five starsTalk about being too busy for one’s own good! I have done almost nothing to get book reviews of Three Hots and a Cot, Stories of  Courage from People Struggling with Homelessness, Addiction, and AIDS since it was published earlier this year. However, reviewers have blessed me with the following comments on Amazon and additional comments on GoodReads, thanks to BookTasters.

Everyone who has read it and then talked to me in person says they think it should be required reading for all Americans! No kidding! They really say that! The book is suggested reading for first responders and all medical personnel, as well as for high school and college sociology, psychology, and drama classes which might wish to stage productions of the monologues to raise awareness and funds. It also is a great (short and easy) read for book clubs. These are true short stories of hardship, courage, & love among people who experienced homelessness, drug addiction, AIDS that tell how “normal, everyday people” become destitute + overcome.

See all my stars (Whoopee!) and what the online reviewers said in their critiques below.

Man in silhouette against an orange sky=book cover picture for Three Hots and a Cot

But, First – Here is the Link Which Describes the Book and the Playbook

If you want to know more about the book before or after reading the reviews, Click Here. Below is a picture of some of the homeless people who became “actors” after I scripted their stories so that we could perform them to raise awareness and funds for groups whose mission was to help homeless people. Keep scrolling for more reviews and more pictures.

Nancy Wyatt and actors Three Hots and a Cot

Book Reviews On Amazon as of 9-22-19


Ctina, who volunteered as a BookTasters participant

June 4, 2019

An absolutely beautiful and fascinating read. Three Hots and a Cot consists of 14 powerful and honest monologues that demonstrate the impacts of homelessness. The author wants everyone to know that homelessness can happen to anyone- even you and me- and we should not judge those who are currently homeless; rather we should help them. The stories in this book are heartbreaking, eye-opening, powerful, insightful and beautiful. You can feel the impact of job loss, addiction, chronic illness and know that it could happen to anyone. It’s clear too that people who are labeled as homeless want everyone to know that they are people too- they have talents, family, things to offer to others, love to give- and want to be loved just like anybody else. Faith is a powerful theme that runs through the stories and have helped many individuals not give up hope and keep the dream alive to go after their goals.
Thank you to BookTasters and Nancy Wyatt for a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.


Silhouette of a man praying on his knees Three Hots and a Cot inside cover


write4jan

May 3, 2019 Format: Paperback

Told against the backdrop of a homeless shelter “Three Hots and a Cot” allows you to see the impact of homelessness. This book, adapted form the stage play, is told in vignettes of short monologues. Feel the impact of job loss, chronic illness, and know that you too could become part of this story. The words will help you feel the powerful emotions of those who must live in shelters, for now. Allow this book will move you and impact your heart, open your senses and feel the stories. As a nurse that has worked in the HIV/AIDS community, taken care of patients who were homeless in parking lot’s “Three Hot’s and a Cot” is a look inside these lives that many will never experience. The glimpse goes into the dark hidden spaces of homelessness. It peaks into the reasons that we never thought of. It gives a glimmer of how the homeless children feel and answers some of the “why” do they end up like this. I found this a fascinating read that gave an open honest view of homelessness. I would go so far as to call it a must-read for medical professionals and those who volunteer with the homeless. I would encourage all who dare to feel the poignant telling of these true stories and allow yourself to experience the homeless crisis through their eyes! This book has been performed on stage as well and licensing for theater groups is available.


June 4, 2019 Format: Paperback

I received a copy of “Three Hots and a Cot” by Nancy Wyatt for review purposes.

The author interviewed a number of homeless shelter residents in Washington, DC, to create dramatic readings. These vignettes and some original poetry by residents have been offered as a spoken performance to raise money and awareness for organizations that help the homeless and those with substance abuse problems. Wyatt has now turned the spoken performances into a book. She writes, “We don’t ask you to feel sorry. We ask you to learn and understand.” Readers will learn a lot and, it is hoped, understand more after going through this short book.

Each prose/poetry piece has an introduction to set the table and to help the reader go from one reading to the next. The first piece will hit many readers: the person had been in the upper-middle-class before becoming homeless. He/she admits to ignoring homeless people, panhandlers, and homeless and hungry children until he/she became homeless him-/herself. Another piece explores the memories of a person who experienced hunger as a child, who did everything expected—got an education and a good job—only to lose it all, becoming a homeless and hungry adult.

Especially striking are the poetry pieces. One poem, titled “Statistics,” reads in part:

Statistics don’t tell you of our humor . . .
How we laugh until we cry

Statistics don’t tell you we know how to love, too. . . .

Another poem, titled “You Call Him ‘Derelict.’ I Call Him ‘Darling’!” has as one stanza:

Whereas most people see an old man.
I see an old and Universal soul.
Whereas most people see an ole’ drunk,
I see a Miracle.

The book contains 14 monologues/poems. My recommendation: By this book. Inhale this book. Share this book. It needs to be read by all.


Variety Pack actors from Three Hots and a Cot


April 24, 2019 Format: Paperback

These honest accounts of people who are homeless, addicted, or ill are heart-changing. These are not pathetic or pitiful pleas for assistance, but simple statements of the realities of these peoples’ lives. Many have fallen into homelessness through a disaster as simple as a home fire or loss of a job. Many have struggled through and gotten out. Many have not. They all are human beings, their stories conveyed with dignity.
The purpose of these stories is simply to raise awareness. The ‘ask’ at the end is likewise simple. Just help where you can. I would like to have had contact information for support or aid agencies that readers might contact. Perhaps this can be added to the electronic version.


April 11, 2019 Format: Paperback

The 14 powerful monologues included within this book are beautifully written and give deep insight into the lives of people who are experiencing homelessness, addiction, and AIDS. From their own perspectives, they describe how they got to that place, and what life is like for them, within the walls of the shelter, and without. The reader is able to gain an understanding that these life situations truly can happy to anyone, and thus, wells up empathy and a desire to help, which was the intention when they were first created. I believe this is an important compilation and highly recommend it to anyone who doesn’t understand homelessness, and think that this book, and the original screenplay, should continue to be used to educate people about these issues.


April 30, 2019 Format: Paperback

Powerful and poignant, this book doesn’t just illustrate society’s ills–it makes a timeless statement. You come away recognizing both the strength and fragility of the human condition and how they coexist in the characters’ lives, as well as our own. Well done!


Nancy Wyatt w/actors from Three Hots and a Cot


Book Reviews on GoodReads as of 9-22-19

I was approached by BookTasters, upon publication of my book, and agreed to give free copies to ten reviewers for their comments, which are placed on GoodReads. Below, you will find the GoodReads reviews as of 9-22-19. One person posted her review in both places.


Jun 04, 2019 Christina Forster rated it 5 stars it was amazing

Shelves: booktasters
An absolutely beautiful and fascinating read. Three Hots and a Cot consists of 14 powerful and honest monologues that demonstrate the impacts of homelessness. The author wants everyone to know that homelessness can happen to anyone- even you and me- and we should not judge those who are currently homeless; rather we should help them. The stories in this book are heartbreaking, eye-opening, powerful, insightful and beautiful. You can feel the impact of job loss, addiction, chronic illness and know that they are people too- they have talents, family, things to offer to others, love to give- and want to be loved just like anybody else. Faith is a powerful theme that runs through the stories and have helped many individuals not give up hope and keep the dream alive to go after their goals.
Thank you to BookTasters and Nancy Wyatt for a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.


Jun 10, 2019 Divya Mahajan rated it 5 stars it was amazing

An honest account of the homeless people told from their point of view that are really heart touching.
By a combination of prose and poetry, the accounts bring tears.
Here the book doesn’t ask for donations or alms but asks to understand and not pity or despise the homeless, sick or addicted people. The author makes a point that this can happen to best of people due to circumstances. And these people are not to be despised or pitied because they did not become addicts or peddlers or prostitutes by choice but were forced to. How hunger not only yours but your dependents drives one to desperate measures. The author pleads that if one cannot help them it’s okay but do not despise them. Anyone can be their shoes.
The last story “Please God” from a child’s viewpoint is most disturbing of all. How a kid is being used and lied and led with a false show of concern, what will he grow up to be.
“Three Hots and a Cot” is a must-read.

I received this book from the author via @Booktasters (less)


Jun 29, 2019 Manal Jamaleddine rated it 5 stars it was amazing

A very important cause this book is highlighting. Homelessness and poverty could happen to anyone. We should all care! A very powerful and inspiring book, written in a very sincere and touching manner. A must-read!


Aug 23, 2019 DALIP rated it 5 stars it was amazing  

*Received A Free Copy Of Three Hots & A Cot From The Author Nancy Wyatt For An Honest And Fair Review Kind Courtesy Of Booktasters.
For Too Long Now There Has Been A Shallow Often Bordering Upon Hollow View That Homelessness Is The Last Frontier Of Lazy Good For Nothing People Who Don’t Want To Earn But Prefer To Be Freeloaders.
But Nothing Can Be Further From The Truth.
Being Homeless Is Not Something Anyone Wishes For Themselves Or Their Loved Ones Just Because They Shirk Away To Earn For Themselves And Their Loved Ones.
Another Myth Is That Being Shelterless, Sick And Not Knowing Where And When The Next Meal Shall Come From Is Something That Only Happens To Other People Who Alone Are To Blame For Their Misery And Where They Find Themselves. The Author Is Not Offering Mere Statistics But True Stories Based Upon Actual Case History Sheets That Reveals Some Stark And Painful Tales That Shall Leave You Disturbed And Leave You Wondering How Much Longer Can One Sweep This Menacing Problem Under The Carpet?
The Author Nancy Wyatt Presents 14 Soul Stirring And At Times Gut-Wrenching Tales About Homelessness, Addiction & AIDS And The Havoc They Can Create Not Upon Just The Single Victim Alone But The Entire Family Who Are Stranded Without A Roof On Their Head And An Empty Stomach With No Source For Medical Care. The Havoc These Three Hots Can Create When You Don’t Have A Cot Is Hard To Imagine Leave Alone Live That Life.
Nancy Wyatt Lifts The Curtain And Reveals The Stark Reality That Has Been Ignored For Too Long Now But No Longer Can You Turn A Blind Eye To The Plight Of These People Because No Longer Does It Happen To Other People Alone Because Ugly Circumstances Can Come Knocking On Your Doorstep Next. God Forbid.

Jun 04, 2019 Diane Riley rated it 5 stars Recommends it for Everyone

I received a copy of Three Hots and a Cot by Nancy Wyatt for review purposes.

The author interviewed a number of homeless shelter residents in Washington, DC, to create dramatic readings. These vignettes and some original poetry by residents have been offered as a spoken performance to raise money and awareness for organizations that help the homeless and those with substance abuse problems. She writes, “We don’t ask you to feel sorry. We ask you to learn and understand.” Readers will learn a lot and, it is hoped, understand more after going through this short book.

Each prose/poetry piece has an introduction to set the table and to help the reader go from one reading to the next. The first piece will hit many readers: the person had been in the upper-middle-class before becoming homeless. He/she admits to ignoring homeless people, panhandlers, and homeless and hungry children until he/she became homeless him-/herself. Another piece explores the memories of a person who experienced hunger as a child, who did everything expected—got an education and a good job—only to lose it all, becoming a homeless and hungry adult.

Especially striking are the poetry pieces. One poem, titled “Statistics,” reads in part:

Statistics don’t tell you of our humor . . .
How we laugh until we cry

Statistics don’t tell you we know how to love, too. . . .

Another poem, titled “You Call Him ‘Derelict.’ I Call Him ‘Darling’!” has as one stanza:

Whereas most people see an old man.
I see an old and Universal soul.
Whereas most people see an ole’ drunk,
I see a Miracle.

The book contains 14 monologues/poems. My recommendation: By this book. Inhale this book. Share this book. It needs to be read by all.

Nancy Wyatt w/actors from Three Hots and a Cot


Sep 09, 2019 Yolisa rated it 4 stars really liked it

Three Hots and a Cot is short and straight to the point, about different people with similar stories. I enjoy how it’s written, it catches your attention from the beginning but that doesn’t mean it doesn’t hurt reading the stories. Poverty, pain, displacement, sickness are not beautiful, but some people never get out. Homelessness is a scourge that needs to be eradicated one person at a time.
It has to be fought by every nation,we cannot be silent about it.


Jun 26, 2019  Sara Ahmed rated it 5 stars it was amazing

This book is a must-read! The 14 monologues written are so powerful and inspiring. Anyone can be homeless, we all struggle through life. This book resembles the lives of homeless people. I recommend it to everybody.

More Book Reviews Are  Welcome

I have not publicized this book, nor have I solicited many reviews, so I would love to hear your thoughts after reading these fascinating stories of courage and faith.Nancy Wyatt - Head shot

Thanks, in advance, for your comments. You also can find a place to review on Facebook where I sometimes post articles, poetry or other tidbits related to homelessness, addiction, AIDs, and more.

Do It The Write Way! Let My Fingers Do Your Talking!